Selling a Mortgaged Property in Dubai 2026: Bank Release Letter, Developer NOC and Why Guides Disagree on the Fees

Close-up of one hand handing a house-shaped key fob to an open palm, symbolising the handover of a property after a sale

You can sell mortgaged property Dubai owners hold, but not by simply handing over keys and waiting for a transfer: the bank’s claim on the title has to be cleared as part of the sale itself. In practice that means a bank liability letter, a developer no-objection certificate (NOC) where the building has one, a visit to a Real Estate Registration Trustee office, and a set of manager’s cheques that pay off your loan, pay you the balance and pay the Dubai Land Department (DLD) its fee. The sequence is well documented. The fees are not: broker guides quote different amounts for almost every line.

Published: 3 November 2026

This guide separates what the official DLD service page says from what broker and legal-services blogs claim, and flags each point where they disagree. Where we could not verify a figure from an official source in this session, we say so and suggest you confirm it with a Sanaya agent rather than guess. If you are earlier in the process, our general walkthrough of how to sell a property in Dubai covers the non-mortgage basics.

Can you sell mortgaged property in Dubai?

Short answer: Yes. The DLD runs a dedicated service called “Registering the Sale of a Mortgaged Property”, and the sale is settled by paying the bank from the buyer’s funds at the transaction itself.

The DLD page describes the purpose as registering the sale so that the amounts due to the bank can be paid and the parties’ rights are reserved. It states that the sale is completed only after the bank’s mortgage release letter is submitted. The service is delivered through Real Estate Registration Trustee centres, takes 15 to 20 minutes according to the page, and can be used by the seller and buyer themselves or by a representative holding a legal power of attorney.

Two practical points follow. First, you do not need to repay the bank before you list: the buyer’s money is routed to the bank as part of the closing. Second, you do need an accurate, current settlement figure, because the cheques are drawn for specific amounts and the buyer’s side will not close on an estimate.

The step-by-step sequence for selling a mortgaged property

Short answer: Get the bank liability letter, get the developer NOC if applicable, sign the sale agreement (Form F), then both parties attend a trustee office with manager’s cheques. After the bank is paid, it issues the release letter and the sale completes.

The steps below combine the DLD page with the order given in broker guides from Bayut (page showing “Updated: 13 Oct, 2026”) and the legal-services firm EGSH. They agree on the order; they differ on timings and fees, which we cover in later sections.

  1. Agree the sale and sign Form F. Form F is the Memorandum of Understanding between buyer and seller, signed through Dubai REST or a registered broker. Bayut places this first; EGSH places the bank liability letter and a valuation before it. The order of these early steps varies by guide, and in practice they overlap.
  2. Request the bank liability letter. This states how much you still owe. The DLD lists it as the first required document for individuals (“a liability letter from the bank, or a letter from the developer stating the remaining amount”).
  3. Request the developer NOC. Needed for units in developer-managed communities and off-plan projects. See the dedicated section below.
  4. Block the property at a trustee office. The unit is blocked in the buyer’s name so it cannot be sold or charged elsewhere while funds move. Bayut lists the liability letter, Form F, developer NOC, title deed, cheques and both parties’ IDs or passports as the documents for this step.
  5. Pay the bank with the buyer’s manager’s cheque. The DLD page says three manager’s cheques are required: one to the bank or developer for the debt, one to the seller for any remaining balance, and one to the DLD for the 4% fee.
  6. Receive the bank’s release letter. The DLD page says that after the transaction is entered and fees are paid, the seller receives a bank indebtedness check to pursue the mortgage release with the bank. Once the seller or buyer submits the mortgage release letter, registration is completed, covering the mortgage release, the sale and any new mortgage.
  7. Transfer and new title deed. Ownership passes to the buyer and a new title deed is issued in their name.
Step Who does it Document or output
Sign sale agreement Seller and buyer Form F (MOU)
Settlement figure Seller, from own bank Bank liability letter
Community clearance Seller, from developer Developer NOC (where applicable)
Block the unit Both parties at trustee office Registration receipt, blocking record
Pay off the loan Buyer’s manager’s cheque Cheque to bank or developer
Release Seller’s bank Mortgage release letter
Transfer Both parties at trustee office New title deed in buyer’s name

For the document list buyers will ask you for on the other side of the table, see our documents required to buy property in Dubai checklist.

What does the DLD say about fees when you sell mortgaged property in Dubai?

Short answer: The official page lists a registrar fee of AED 4,200 for sales of AED 500,000 or more (AED 2,100 below that), a mortgage release fee of AED 1,290 and a registrar release fee of AED 315, plus map, title-deed and small system fees. It does not list a bank letter fee or a developer NOC fee, because those are not DLD charges.

Here is what the DLD service page lists, as we read it on 2 November 2026:

Item on the DLD page Amount (AED)
Registrar fee for the sale, price AED 500,000 or more 4,200
Registrar fee for the sale, price under AED 500,000 2,100
Mortgage release procedure 1,290
Registrar fee to release the mortgage 315
Title deed issuance 250
Land map (outside Dubai Municipality jurisdiction) 100
Land map (Dubai Municipality unified map) 225
Building or apartment map 250
Knowledge fee and innovation fee 10 each (per drawing for the map items)
DLD transfer fee 4% of the sale value
Mortgage registration, if the buyer takes a new loan 0.25% of the mortgage value

Three cautions on reading this table.

The registrar fee can be waived. The page says registrar fees are exempt if a mortgage is registered on the same day. If it is registered the next day, a service partners fee of AED 4,000 plus VAT applies. That is a real cost of a delayed closing when the buyer is also financing.

The page’s fee list contains an ambiguous line. It shows an AED 1,000 base fee and, alongside the innovation fee, an AED 525 figure. The page does not make clear whether AED 525 is a separate charge. We have left it out of the table above rather than guess. Several broker guides present “1,000 + 10 + 10 + 525” as a block of administrative fees, which is consistent with what the page shows, but we cannot confirm from the page itself how each is applied. Confirm with the trustee office.

VAT is only mentioned on the service partners fee. The DLD page states VAT only for that AED 4,000 charge. Broker guides differ on whether the AED 4,200 trustee fee is quoted with or without VAT (see the next section).

Where do broker guides disagree on the fees?

Short answer: On nearly every line except the 4% DLD fee and the AED 1,290 release fee. Bank letter fees, developer NOC fees, blocking fees, Islamic mortgage release fees and the trustee fee all appear with different numbers in different guides.

We compared the DLD page with three broker or legal-services pages we could read in full this session: Bayut’s guide, EGSH’s seller guide, and a “DLD Service Fees 2026” page from Real Estate Club Dubai (published 30 April 2026, updated 16 July 2026). A fourth guide, from UAE Expert Hub, returned an access error when we tried to read it, so we do not quote it. Some additional ranges below come from search summaries of other broker pages we did not open in full; we label those as such.

Item DLD official page Bayut EGSH Real Estate Club Dubai
Bank liability letter / NOC fee Not listed (bank charge) No figure given NOC / clearance AED 1,000-5,000 by bank; letter fee not stated Not listed
Developer NOC fee Not listed (developer charge) No figure given AED 500-5,000 AED 500-5,000; Emaar AED 1,000-5,000
Blocking fees Not a separate line Blocking-only: 1,000 + 10 + 10 + trustee 500; restriction fee 1,020 mentioned Approx. AED 1,020-1,545 Not listed
Mortgage release AED 1,290 + 315 AED 1,290 + 315 AED 1,290 + 315 (conventional); AED 1,560 + 315 (Islamic, “market sources”) AED 1,290
Trustee fee AED 4,200 (500k+) / 2,100 (under 500k) Same figures Same figures AED 4,000 + 5% VAT (under 500k); AED 4,200 + 5% VAT (500k+)
Who pays 4% Cheque to DLD; payer not specified Not assigned Buyer (market practice; negotiable) Buyer by convention; legal wording refers to 2%/2%

The disagreements matter most in three places.

1. Bank letter and NOC fees. Quotes we saw range from AED 750-2,000 for a combined liability letter and NOC (a single guide surfaced in search) to AED 1,000-5,000 for a bank NOC or clearance fee (EGSH). Neither number comes from a bank schedule. The honest answer is that it depends on your lender, and the only reliable source is your own bank’s published schedule of charges or your relationship manager. We did not verify any specific bank’s fee schedule in this session.

2. Developer NOC fees. Two sources agree on AED 500-5,000 and say it is set by the developer, not the DLD. Real Estate Club Dubai gives Emaar a higher floor, AED 1,000-5,000. Since the developer sets the charge, it can change without any change to DLD rules. Ask the developer or the community management company for its current NOC schedule and validity period before you commit to a closing date.

3. Blocking and the trustee fee. Bayut’s blocking breakdown, EGSH’s AED 1,020-1,545 range and one search-summary figure of a AED 1,520 blocking cheque do not match each other. Meanwhile the trustee fee is AED 4,200 on the DLD page but “AED 4,000 + 5% VAT” for sub-AED 500,000 units on one broker page, while the DLD page lists AED 2,100 for that band. We treat the DLD page as the reference for the registrar fee and treat blocking totals as indicative only. Ask the trustee office for a written fee quote for your exact transaction.

What is the early settlement fee when you sell?

Short answer: Selling usually means paying off the loan early, so your bank may charge an early settlement fee. The UAE Central Bank’s cap is reported as 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is lower, excluding VAT, but we confirmed it only through secondary sources.

Multiple broker and mortgage-advice pages state that the Central Bank of the UAE caps the early settlement fee on home loans at the lower of 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, and that VAT is added on top. They trace it to the Central Bank’s schedule of maximum retail fees and a board decision effective 8 October 2019. We did not retrieve the Central Bank rulebook itself in this session, so treat this as a widely repeated figure rather than a primary-source confirmation.

A simple worked example using the cap as reported: on an outstanding balance of AED 1,500,000, 1% would be AED 15,000, so the AED 10,000 limit would apply, plus VAT. On AED 800,000, 1% is AED 8,000, which is below the cap.

Sources also disagree about fixed-rate loans. One reports that fixed-rate penalties can be higher and set by bank policy, including a “break cost”; another says the circular refers to the lender’s actual cost of breaking a fixed loan. If you are in a fixed-rate period, check your Key Facts Statement or ask the bank for the settlement quote in writing. EGSH’s guide also lists the early settlement penalty as paid by the seller, which matches the logic: it is a cost of your loan, not the buyer’s.

If you are weighing whether to repay early or keep the loan and let it run, our guide to mortgage vs cash purchase in Dubai explains how the loan structure affects your position.

Do you always need a developer NOC?

Short answer: Not always. Broker guides say a developer NOC applies to developer-managed or strata-titled communities and off-plan units, and it typically confirms that service charges are paid. Whether your unit needs one depends on the building and developer.

EGSH says a developer NOC is required for strata-titled and off-plan units only. Bayut describes the NOC as confirmation from the developer that there are no unpaid service charges. The DLD page itself refers to “a letter from the developer stating the remaining amount” as an alternative to the bank letter, which covers the case where you still owe the developer rather than a bank.

Processing time is another point of disagreement. EGSH gives 7-14 working days with a usual validity of about 30 days. Search summaries of other broker guides gave 2-7 business days and 5-10 days. We could not find a single official figure because it varies by developer. Our advice: apply as soon as you have a serious buyer, and check how long the NOC remains valid so it does not expire between issue and closing. For how service charges are set and why an unpaid balance holds up a sale, see our explainer on service charges in Dubai communities.

How long does the process take?

Short answer: Sources do not agree. EGSH gives 3 to 6 weeks overall, with 2 to 3 weeks for a cash buyer and 4 to 6 weeks when the buyer has a new mortgage. The DLD transaction itself is listed as 15 to 20 minutes; the waiting is mostly the bank letter and the developer NOC.

Stage EGSH’s timing Notes
Bank liability letter 5-7 working days (valid 30-60 days) Other guides quote validity of 7-15 days
Valuation 3-5 working days EGSH lists this as a step; not on the DLD page
Form F 1-3 days Bayut places this earlier in the sequence
Developer NOC 7-14 working days Other guides quote shorter ranges
Trustee office transaction 15-20 minutes DLD page
Bank clearance after payment 3-7 working days Release letter and original title deed

The mismatch in letter validity (30-60 days versus 7-15 days) is worth taking seriously. If the letter expires before closing, you will need a fresh one, and the settlement figure may have changed as interest accrued. Ask your bank how long its letter stays valid and plan the trustee appointment inside that window.

Can you sell mortgaged property in Dubai for less than the loan balance?

Short answer: You must cover the shortfall. Broker guides say the seller may need to pay the difference from other funds, and some mention that a bank may agree to a short sale with a written agreement.

This is called negative equity. EGSH’s guide gives a worked example in which a AED 1,200,000 sale against a AED 1,400,000 mortgage produces a net shortfall, and says the bank’s written agreement is required for any short-sale arrangement. Bayut’s FAQ says similarly that the seller may need to cover the difference. Neither source quotes a bank policy, and we did not find an official DLD rule on short sales. Because the manager’s cheque to the bank is for the full liability amount, a buyer’s money alone cannot clear the loan unless the price is high enough. Speak to your bank before you list, and tell your agent the exact settlement figure so pricing is realistic.

Remember also the early settlement fee, agent commission and any outstanding service charges all come out of your proceeds. EGSH lists agent commission at 2% plus 5% VAT paid by the seller. Commission is negotiable and set by your agent agreement, so confirm it with your agent rather than relying on a guide.

What about off-plan units with a mortgage or a developer balance?

Short answer: If your unit is still off-plan, the property is held under an Oqood rather than a title deed, and the route is different. The DLD page allows a developer letter stating the remaining amount in place of a bank letter.

An Oqood is the DLD’s interim registration of an off-plan purchase. One search summary of broker guides noted that off-plan transfers need a separate DLD NOC in addition to the bank liability letter and NOC, but we could not trace that to an official page this session, so confirm it with the developer and a trustee office. Our guide to Oqood vs title deed in Dubai explains what each document proves and why the sale route differs for each. For the broader risks of selling before handover, see the rules on resales while payments are still due in our off-plan resale guide.

Who pays the 4% DLD fee when you sell?

Short answer: The DLD page lists a cheque to the DLD for 4% but does not say which party pays it. By market practice the buyer pays, though it is negotiable.

EGSH describes the 4% as buyer-paid by market practice and negotiable. Real Estate Club Dubai goes further and notes that although convention has the buyer pay the full 4%, the legal wording references a 2%/2% split, so you should check the MOU. Because the DLD page is silent, the allocation belongs in your Form F. For the full buyer-side cost stack see our guide to Dubai property buying costs.

What if you are an overseas owner or use a power of attorney?

Short answer: The DLD page allows a representative holding a legal power of attorney, and non-resident foreigners may use a valid passport as ID. The exact POA formalities have their own rules.

If you are not in Dubai for the transaction, a representative can act for you with a legal power of attorney. The formal requirements for a POA used on Dubai property are covered in our guide to power of attorney for Dubai property, and the extra points for sellers who live abroad are in our guide to selling property in Dubai as a non-resident. One broker page claims sale proceeds must be paid into a UAE bank account in the title-holder’s name; we found this on only one broker page and could not trace it to an official source, so we do not treat it as a rule. Ask your bank and trustee office how your balance cheque will be handled.

What if the property is tenanted?

If a tenant occupies the unit, your sale also involves a lease question that is separate from the mortgage. A buyer who wants vacant possession has to follow the notice rules, and a buyer who keeps the tenant takes over the lease. Our guide to buying or selling a tenanted property in Dubai covers the 12-month notice rule and what happens to the lease on sale.

A practical checklist before you list

  1. Ask your bank for a written settlement quote, the early settlement fee and how long the liability letter stays valid.
  2. Find out whether your building needs a developer NOC and request its fee, processing time and validity.
  3. Confirm your loan type (conventional or Islamic) because broker guides quote different release fees for each.
  4. Calculate your net position: price minus loan balance, early settlement fee, commission and any service-charge arrears.
  5. Ask the trustee office for a written fee quote for your exact transaction.
  6. Set the 4% allocation in the Form F.
  7. Agree a closing date inside the validity windows of the bank letter and NOC.

Frequently asked questions

Can I sell my Dubai property if I still have a mortgage?

Yes. The DLD provides a service for registering the sale of a mortgaged property, and the buyer’s funds clear your loan during the transaction at a Registration Trustee centre.

What is a bank liability letter?

It is a letter from your bank stating how much you still owe. The DLD lists it, or a developer letter stating the remaining amount, as the first required document for individuals.

How much does the bank release letter or NOC cost?

There is no official figure. Broker guides quote anywhere from AED 750 to AED 5,000 depending on the source and the bank. Ask your own bank for its published charge.

How much is the developer NOC?

It is set by the developer, not the DLD. Two sources we read quote AED 500 to AED 5,000, with one giving Emaar AED 1,000 to AED 5,000. Confirm with your developer.

How many manager’s cheques do I need?

The DLD page lists three: one to the bank or developer for the debt, one to the seller for any remaining balance and one to the DLD for the 4% fee.

What are the DLD fees for releasing a mortgage?

The DLD page lists AED 1,290 for the mortgage release procedure and AED 315 for the registrar to release it. One broker guide quotes AED 1,560 for an Islamic mortgage release from “market sources”; we could not confirm that on the DLD page.

Is there an early settlement fee?

Possibly. Secondary sources report a Central Bank cap of 1% of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is lower, plus VAT. Check your own loan documents, especially for fixed-rate periods.

How long does it take to sell a mortgaged property?

EGSH gives 3 to 6 weeks overall; the trustee transaction itself is listed by the DLD as 15 to 20 minutes. The delays are usually the bank letter and developer NOC.

What if my sale price is below my mortgage balance?

You must cover the shortfall. Some guides say a bank may agree to a short sale in writing. Speak to your bank before listing.

Who pays the 4% DLD fee?

The DLD page does not say. By market practice it is the buyer, but it is negotiable and should be stated in the Form F.

Do I need a developer NOC if I own a villa?

Not necessarily. One guide says NOCs apply only to strata-titled and off-plan units. Confirm with your community’s developer or management company.

Can someone else sell for me?

Yes, a representative with a legal power of attorney can act for you according to the DLD page.

How Sanaya can help

Sanaya Real Estate helps owners sell, and our mortgage services team can help you understand your settlement position before you list. With offices in Dubai and London, we can also coordinate with overseas owners. To discuss your sale, contact Sanaya or message us directly:

Message Sanaya on WhatsApp: +971 50 436 5316

You can also call +971 4 566 2368 or email info@sanayarealestate.com.

This guide is general information, not legal or financial advice. Fees, timelines and requirements change; confirm current figures with the DLD, your bank, your developer and a Sanaya agent before you act.

Compare listings

Compare
×